Scoil Naisuínta Colmcill Naofa, Maoin (St. Colmcille’s N.S., Moone) is a rural five mainstream teacher, co-educational school. It is located in the village of Moone which is situated off the N9 Motorway between Castledermot and Kilcullen, Co. Kildare. The school was built in its present location in 1952. The original school, which is still in use today as the parish hall, was built in 1911. William G. Doyle was appointed Principal in 1913 when the new school was being built and he continued in this role in the new three-teacher school. When he retired in 1959 he was replaced by Joe May. When Mr. May moved to Athy a few years later, in 1969, he was succeeded by Pierce Ferriter. Mr. Ferriter moved to Donegal in 1973 and Michael Abbey was then appointed principal.

A third assistant teaching post was sanctioned in October 1975 and an extension consisting of a new Infant classroom. The G.P. room, staff room, office, store room and staff toilets were opened in 1982.
Michael Abbey retired in October 2001 and Joe Monaghan was then appointed Principal. During his term as Principal, the boy’s and girl’s cloakrooms were converted into a computer room and a Learning Support room respectively. A further extension consisting of two new classrooms and a Resource room were officially opened in June 2009 by the then Minister for Education, Batt O’Keeffe.
Mr. Monaghan retired in December 2009 and Anne Breen took on the role of Acting Principal until July 2010 when our present Principal Darragh Flynn was appointed. A further extension was completed in 2018.  The extension contains one extra classroom, a Special Education room and a disabled toilet.

The pupils participated in many educational, cultural and sporting activities, such as rounders, down through the years. There are 127 children on roll at present and they also participate in and enjoy many sporting activities such as Gaelic Football, basketball, soccer, tag rugby and swimming. We also participate in Music Generation, quizzes, debating, drama, chess, the Blue Star, Green Flag, Active Schools, Amber Flag and Young Entrepreneur programmes.